AOSA REFEREE COMMITTEE BYLAW PROPOSAL

Purpose: This proposal is to move AOSA referee from a Standing Committee to a Joint AOSA/SCST Referee Committee and to remove Article XV Referee Regions.

Present Bylaw:

Article VII

- 4. There shall be Standing Committees as follows (1998):
 - g. Referee:
- (1) Shall initiate, supervise, and conduct referee tests, either regionally or for the entire Association, for the purpose of promoting more uniform application of prescribed testing and analytical procedures. The results of referee tests shall be circulated to participating seed laboratories and copies of these results shall be deposited in a permanent committee file. The committee shall analyze referee test results and report pertinent findings to the membership.
- (2) Shall consist of seven regular members with the chairs of the Research and Rules committees serving as additional ex-officio members. Six of the regular members shall represent the six regions of the Association (see Article XV). One regular member shall act as chair and represent no region. The chairs shall be appointed by the President. Each member representing a region shall serve for a term of two years and shall be eligible for one reappointment. Two members representing a region shall be appointed each year by the chair of the committee with the approval of the President, except in the year when only one vacancy exists.

ARTICLE XV - REFEREE REGIONS

The Official Laboratories of the Association shall be divided into the following six regions composed of the following states and provinces:

- 1. NORTHWEST REGION I: Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming
- 2. MIDWEST REGION II: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin
- 3. NORTHEAST REGION III: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia
- 4. SOUTHWEST REGION IV: Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Utah (1995)
- 5. SOUTHERN REGION V: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia (1995) (2013)
- 6. CANADA REGION VI: Provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, and Prince Edward Island

Proposed Bylaw:

Article VII

- 4. There shall be Standing Committees as follows (1998):
 - g. Joint AOSA/SCST Referee:
- (1) Shall initiate, supervise, and conduct referee tests, either regionally or for the entire Association, for the purpose of promoting more uniform application of prescribed testing and analytical procedures. This work may be conducted by members of the Association of Official Seed Analysts (AOSA) and the Society of Commercial Seed Technologists (SCST). The results of referee tests shall be circulated to participating seed laboratories and copies of these results shall be deposited in a permanent committee file presented at the AOSA/SCST Annual Meeting each year, and copies of the presentation shall be deposited in a committee file. The committee shall analyze referee test results and report pertinent findings to the membership.
- (2) Shall consist of seven regular members with the chairs of the Research and Rules committees serving as additional ex officio members. Six of the regular members shall represent the six regions of the Association (see Article XV). One regular member shall act as chair and represent no region. The chairs shall be appointed by the President. Each member representing a region shall serve for a term of two years and shall be eligible for one reappointment. Two members representing a region shall be appointed each year by the chair of the committee with the approval of the President, except in the year when only one vacancy exists. Shall be a joint committee between AOSA and SCST. There shall be one (1) AOSA co-chair and one (1) SCST co-chair represented on this committee. There shall be minimum six (6) members on this committee with 3 members from the AOSA and 3 members from SCST. In addition, the chair of AOSA Research committee, the chair of the SCST Research committee, and the chair of AOSA Rules committee shall serve as ex-officio members. The Presidents of the AOSA and the SCST, by mutual agreement, shall appoint the co-chairs from the committee, who shall serve for a term of two years with eligibility for reappointment.

ARTICLE XV - REFEREE REGIONS

The Official Laboratories of the Association shall be divided into the following six regions composed of the following states and provinces:

- 1. NORTHWEST REGION I: Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming
- -2. MIDWEST REGION II: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

- 3. NORTHEAST REGION III: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia
- 4. SOUTHWEST REGION IV: Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Utah (1995)
- 5. SOUTHERN REGION V: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia (1995) (2013)
- 6. CANADA REGION VI: Provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, and Prince Edward Island

Submitted by Lan Chi Trinh