AOSA BYLAW PROPOSAL #11

Purpose: The current Rules Committee is not operating with the guidelines of the bylaws. The following is presented with the intention of defining the membership requirements with the possibility of reducing membership requirements.

Present:

Rules committee:

- (1) Shall receive and evaluate proposals and supporting data for changes in the Rules for Testing Seeds as specified in Bylaw XI. Shall publish approved proposals for changes in the Rules for Testing Seeds as specified in Bylaw XI, Section 2. The Rules Committee shall submit to the Executive Board Tentative Rules for testing seeds for approval as specified in Bylaw XI, Section 3. The Rules Committee shall also interpret the Rules for Testing Seeds where clarification and amplification are needed. The chair of the Editorial Committee shall assist the chair of the Rules Committee in arriving at the proper wording for revisions in the Rules for Testing Seeds. (1998)
- (2) Shall consist of five Affiliate members with the chairs of the Editorial, Research and Referee committees, a Society of Commercial Seed Technologists representative, and the chair of the International Seed Testing Association Rules Committee serving as additional ex officio members. An ex-officio member shall be eligible to serve as co-chair of the Rules Committee provided the President appoints them as such. Each Affiliate member shall serve for a period of five years and shall not be eligible for reappointment to the committee for one year. The President shall appoint the committee chair, preferably one of the continuing members. One member shall be appointed each year by the incoming chair with the approval of the President. Insofar as possible, the membership of the committee shall include representatives of the States, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, and the United States Department of Agriculture. (1996, 1998)

Proposal:

(2) Shall consist of at least three Affiliate Members, and two AOSA ex officio members as follows: the chair of the Research Committee and the chair of Referee Committee. The committee shall include, insofar as possible, three additional ex officio members as follows: the chair of the SCST Research Committee, the chair of the SCST Referee Committee, and the chair of the ISTA Rules Committee. Insofar as possible, the membership of the committee shall include representatives of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the United States Department of Agriculture. Each Affiliate Member shall serve for a period of five years and shall not be eligible for reappointment to the committee for one year. The President shall appoint one continuing AOSA member to act as a committee chair every year.

Submitted by Lynn Robinson and Todd Ericson